Post-Brexit Travel Changes: “We need to know who’s crossing our borders” means Stricter Rules for Brits

The EU, strengthening security checks with their new IT automated system, ETIAS, means UK nationals and Non-EU countries travelling to Schengen Area countries has become more complicated.

Heading for Security
Heading for Security © Unknown Source

With Post-Brexit travel policies already enforced since the 1st of January 2021, UK nationals are now to experience more changes amidst the UK leaving the European Union(EU). The European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) programme created by the EU is due to be enforced from November 2023, where those who do not need a visa to enter the Schengen area must apply and pay for an ETIAS.

Security / check-in lines at Gatwick Airport as people travel
Passengers queue for check-in © PA

The plans for the ETIAS were decided long before Brexit, with the European Commission proposing to establish it with the idea of needing “to know who’s crossing our borders”. As a result, ETIAS will be an obligatory requirement as of November 2023.

The ETIAS Visa Waiver Explained

ETIAS has been created as a form of protection and to strengthen its border, its primary aim is to locate any threats or risks linked to those that travel to and within the Schengen zone. It has been produced for short-term stays of up to 90 days for business and leisure purposes.

The process will include travellers completing an online application which provides information such as health, any criminal convictions and education. As well as this, electronic payment of a €7 fee per application would need to be made for applicants between the ages of 18 and 70. The ETIAS travel authorisation will have validity for three years

UK & ETIAS Eligible Countries

Alongside the United Kingdom, the other countries eligible for a three-year permit are Albania, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, El Salvador, Georgia, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Macao, North Macedonia, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Montenegro, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent, Samoa, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Taiwan, Timor Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, Uruguay, Vanuatu, and Venezuela.

With the UK now being a “third country” and having more and more travel restrictions Post-Brexit, what are your views on the proposed ETIAS programme? Comment Below 

Subscribe to our Weekly Digest!

More News

Air Canada’s Air-to-Rail Connections Set to Create Seamless Travel Itinerary

Air Canada has just unveiled a groundbreaking initiative called...

Christmas Spirit For 2023 Sees Air New Zealand’s Latest Festive Video.

High-flying action meets Christmas spirit for 2023 in Air...

Alaska Airlines And Hawaiian Airlines To Combine Networks After Purchase

Alaska Airlines and Hawaiian Airlines have announced they will...

Pakistan International Airlines’ Boeing 777 Returns To Karachi After Engine Failure

On Saturday, December 2nd, Medina-bound Pakistan International Airlines (PIA)...



  1. It is a good idea. Anything to protect borders from the unwanted or uninvited. As far as UK is concerned we only have our current regime to blame and our own apathy back in 2016.


Please enter your comment!