Delhi Airport
Delhi Airport | © Tribune Of India

The Union Health Ministry of India had announced that all foreign visitors to the country will be required to home quarantine for seven days from  11th January. On the eighth day of the seven-day home quarantine, and an RT-PCR test will be performed. The new foreign arrivals travel guidelines will be effective from today until new additional government directives.

Travellers arriving from countries designated as “at-risk” must submit samples for Covid testing upon arrival and then wait for the results at the airport before leaving or boarding a connecting aircraft, according to the existing norms, which have been kept in the amended recommendations.

Those who test positive will be taken to a facility where they will be isolated. If they test negative, they must stay at home for seven days before having the RT-PCR test done on the eighth day. If the results are negative again, they must continue to monitor their health for the next seven days.

Covid-19 Testing
Covid-19 Testing Booth | © LiveMint

They must also upload the findings of the RT-PCR test performed on the eighth day to the Air Suvidha portal (which will be monitored by the states/UTs).

Both pre-and post-arrival testing is waived for children under the age of five. If they are found to be COVID-19 positive upon arrival or during the home quarantine period, they will be tested and treated according to the procedure.

All travellers must upload a negative RT-PCR report of the test completed within 72 hours of the start of the tour prior to embarking on the journey.

Each passenger must also sign a declaration attesting to the report’s validity, and if proven to be false, will face criminal charges, according to the guidelines.

Guidelines for International Flyers

  • Passengers from at-risk nations must be quarantined for seven days at home and must follow all other measures.
  • Airlines flying from non-risk nations, on the other hand, will randomly pick 2% of passengers who will be subjected to RT-PCR tests at airports upon arrival.
  • Those who test positive will be transported to an isolation facility, while those who test negative will be subjected to a seven-day quarantine.
  • According to the updated rules, the 2% of passengers to be tested at airports in not-at-risk nations will prefer to be those arriving from a third country who would have taken a connecting flight in the not-at-risk country.

All countries in Europe including the United Kingdom, South Africa, Brazil, Botswana, China, Ghana, Mauritius, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Tanzania, Hong Kong, Israel, Congo, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Nigeria, Tunisia, and Zambia.



Please enter your comment!